It's unusual…

..what started out as an IVF journey and ended up being about life

Okay so I’m poor… April 15, 2012

Filed under: Life — gertyrae @ 2:10 am
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

…and now that I’ve gotten that off my chest I feel better. On the upside,  I think  I have accepted poverty (for now) and will just deal with it.

We are going to try to battle it a bit though. Step One – get a car that doesn’t burn so much gas. We have two trucks right now and they both average 16mpg so we are going to dump mine and get a car that will get more like 30mpg.

And I’m going to start loving cheap stuff!!! Baking for example – cheap and gratifying…and Colin loves to sample the results so it works for everyone. I really like the decorating part better than the baking. And after months of trying I have finally figured out royal icing. And I’m starting to make biscuits for the pups…hopefully better for their skin and coats.

Also, running – have decided to run a marathon this year so I’m training now. Wish me luck on this one cuz it ain’t gonna be easy. Because for me I can’t just do a marathon, I have to do a trail marathon in the hills of Connecticut. Should be interesting to say the least.

Oh – and I have to share this Colinism: sitting at dinner the other night. He’s on my lap, hugs me and says “mommy i love you, you are the best mom” then looks over at Dan and says “and daddy you are my dad and you are the best dad”…Misty comes over cuz she’s looking for scraps and Dan says “and who is that”…Colin’s response: “This is my sister Misty!” and he gives her a big hug. Totally unprompted, we never say Misty is his sister and yet she is just a part of his family…And Stormy is his pest 🙂

So that’s my update – not much else going on…

 

One Response to “Okay so I’m poor…”

  1. Mars Says:

    Here’s to wishing you all the best! Sometimes being able to appreciate the small things, the cheap stuffs, little things that could make life easier can be sources of great lessons in life. Grew up in a household bordering in between middle class and poor and I watched how my parents make both ends meet. It was a very humbling experience for me and my family. Hope you can check out my recent post, as I can relate so much with yours. Hugs from this side of the world =)


Leave a Reply

